Social = Credible

Image

As a midterm assignment for ADPR 4300, my group did a social media assessment on the Milwaukee Public Market. Part of the assignment was understanding what being a social business means and assessing whether or not the Milwaukee Public Market could improve their social business image.  For me, the biggest takeaway from this assignment was the link between becoming a social business and creating brand value.

When I think about creating brand value, usually I think about creating loyal customers and making sure to keep a brand credible and relevant to its customers.  Being a social business adds a whole new element to creating value. Being a social brand, in my opinion,  creates a whole new level of credibility and value that cannot be created by brands that do not engage socially.

I am a personal fan of the Milwaukee Public Market and after I researching their social media presence (or lack there of), I am sad to say that their brand has lost some credibility in my opinion.  It is not that I will enjoy their food any less, or that I will go to the public market less, but I have lost some respect for their brand and promotions as a whole.

In the age of social media, the up and coming consumer market is completely emerged in social media, it is important that companies create value for their brand through social media.  In order for the social customer to respect a brand, they need to feel that the brand is present and active in the social world.  It is about time that brands, small and large, begin to engage themselves in social media so they can stay current when social media takes over as the main form of communication with consumers. 

In my opinion, in the next few years, social brands will move to the top and other brands that are not on the social map will be left behind.  It will be interesting to see who moves up and who falls to the wayside.

7 thoughts on “Social = Credible

  1. You would think that Milwaukee Public Market would have more of a social presence. However, I wonder if those sub-brands within the MKE Public Market are active or not. Regardless, I think the Public Market has a lot of opportunity for relevant content. I love the concept in itself, and I think it can lend that concept to an interesting social strategy and executions.

  2. Colleen, I absolute agree that social brands move to the top, and will continue to do so in the future. Simply just by earned media that they receive for social campaigns and interaction is a huge leg up on the competition.

    However, I think it is essential to emphasize that when it’s done well, is when a brand is credible. Personally, when a brand has media platforms but aren’t using them well or are left inactive, I question their credibility.

    Nice work!

  3. Colleen,

    Great insights! I love the Milwaukee Public Market as well, and I couldn’t agree more that they need to do something about their lack of presence in social media. I think that they could take advantage of social media to gain more customers if they do. I know a lot of people who has never been to that place. Some don’t even know what it is. If they somehow manage to showcase what they have to offer (great food and wonderful atmosphere) through social media platforms, maybe more people would eat there and visit.

  4. I really like how you focused on The Milwaukee Public Market and looked at how they became a social company. It is disappointing that they were not able to implement social media effectively when they could create such a buzz. people are always raving about them so I do not think it would be hard for them to talk about it on social media.

  5. Colleen,

    You’re so right in saying that companies must create value for their consumers. If companies don’t provide consumers with reason to feel that there is value to be had in using their product or being a loyal consumer of their brand, then they will not see much success. A business like the Milwaukee Public Market has such potential to become a social business. Off the top of my head, I can think of about 10 things the business could do to expose itself to Milwaukee residents and visitors that would engage them and create value for the market. There is so much potential there, and I hope the Public Market assesses their situation and finds that same vision that I see for them and takes advantage of it.

    Great post!

    -Alison

  6. The title of this post says it all. Not only are social brands seen as more credible – particularly by Millenials like ourselves – but a strong social presence also increases our respect for them. If a brand is engaging with me on social media, I would likely prefer them to others. Social media has allowed for a much more intimate and personal relationship between brands and consumers, and brands that take advantage of that opportunity definitely increase their credibility in my eyes.

  7. Colleen,

    Never thought of it that way…and I bet if people in earlier generations, like our parents, would laugh if you told them that an organization would lose credibility if they lacked a social media presence. That’s simply because they don’t understand the impact social media has on our (and future) generation.

    That being said, I completely agree with your post and the subsequent comments. Companies without social media are like a brand without a logo or tagline. Social media is becoming SO important to brands and not having any presence is suicidal.

Leave a comment